Coombe Conduit is one of Kingston’s most important ancient monuments. It was built around 1540 as part of a system to collect fresh water from springs on Kingston Hill and channel it to the palace of Hampton Court.
In its atmospheric interior visitors can see crystal-clear water still flowing into lead-lined cisterns in two brick-walled chambers, which are connected by an 80ft underground passage.
The imposing entry to the Conduit is a chapel-like building in stone and brick, topped with crow-stepped gables.
The entrance to the Conduit is in Coombe Lane West, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7HE, and is close to the corner of Lord Chancellor Walk.
The Kingston upon Thames Society manages the property on behalf of English Heritage.